Ir al contenido

How to Delete Your Netflix History (with pictures)

How to delete Netflix History

If you’re getting bizarre Netflix recommendations, it’s usually because your viewing activity looks like a communal cutting room floor. If you’re sharing an account with multiple users with different interests, this often becomes the case. The best way to circumvent the issue is to do some spring cleaning in your Netflix viewing history, getting the algorithm back on track. Clearing your account history on any device will also carry over to your mobile devices, so without further ado here’s how to clear your history on desktop in six easy steps:

Clearing your Netflix watch history

  1. Open your preferred web browser

  2. Go to netflix.com and log in to your Netflix account

  3. Open your account

Once you open Netflix you’ll be able to see your profile image on the top right. Hover your cursor over it and a drop-down menu will appear. Click ‘Account.’

  1. Click the drop-down next to your profile image

On your account page you will see your profile thumbnail (along with those of any sharing members) under the ‘Profile & Parental Controls.’ To the right of that image is another drop-down icon. Click on it and it will bring up a variety of profile settings.

  1. Open your Viewing Activity

Next to the ‘Viewing Activity’ list option can click ‘view’ to open your history. Here you’ll be able to see a full list of all the shows and movies you’ve watched with this account profile.

  1. Remove the chosen content

To the right of every show or movie you’ll see two options: ‘Report a problem’ and a cancel sign, which allows you to hide the programming. Select the hide option and you’ll get a message saying that within 24 hours the show you chose will no longer appear in your Netflix account as a title you have watched. It will also no longer be used to make recommendations to you, unless you continue watching it or turn it on again later. If it’s a TV show, the message additionally allows you to ‘hide series’.

Lastly, if you want a completely fresh start you have two options. You could always elect to create an entirely new Netflix account (or a new profile), but there’s probably a better choice: At the bottom of the activity page list you’ll see a ‘hide all’ option. Just click this and next time you open the netflix app it’ll be just like a fresh account.

Enjoy building your new catalog!

AT&T TV Cash Back

Let us know your e-mail address to send your $75 Amazon Gift Card when you sign up for AT&T TV.

You will receive it ~2 weeks after you complete your first month of service.