コンテンツにスキップ

The Beatles’ ‘Yellow Submarine’ Singalong, Grateful Dead Hit YouTube

Fern Siegel

Beatles fans take note: The Fab Four’s 1968 animated “Yellow Submarine” film singalong streams live on the Beatles’ YouTube channel Saturday, April 25 at 12 p.m. ET/ 9 a.m. PT, notes Variety.

And the special is free worldwide.

The restored film’s singalong version adds lyrics at the bottom of the screen. It debuted in 2018 to celebrate the film’s 50th anniversary.

“Yellow Submarine” is set in Pepperland, a paradise under the sea, where music and happiness take center stage. That is, until the Blue Meanies invade.

The animated movie musical includes some of the Beatle’s most popular songs, such as “Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds,” “All You Need Is Love” and, of course, “Yellow Submarine.”

In a video posted on the Beatles’ Twitter account, Ringo Starr said the “Submarine” singalong was “for kids and kids at heart. Peace and love. I know I’ll be there; I hope you will, too.”

Another famed group, the Grateful Dead, is utilizing its YouTube channel to showcase a 1993 concert, part of the band’s “Shakedown Stream” series premiering tonight. This is its third entry.

The band’s June 11, 1993 concert, performed in Columbus, Ohio, will be aired in its entirety, including rare footage of Dead events, notes Rolling Stone. Grateful Dead archivist David Lemieux, Gary Lambert, co-host of Sirius XM’s the Grateful Deal Channel and music journalist Jesse Jarnow will host a live on-camera pre-show at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT.

Each week, the streaming concerts earmark specific charities. Tonight’s will support the Sweet Relief Musicians Fund.

Photo credit: The Beatles’ YouTube channel

The Beatles: ‘Yellow Submarine’ Singalong (April 25 at 12 p.m. ET)

AT&T TV Cash Back

Let us know your e-mail address to send your $75 Amazon Gift Card when you sign up for AT&T TV.

You will receive it ~2 weeks after you complete your first month of service.