Skip to Content

Peacock Won’t Be Available on Roku and Fire TV At Launch

Jason Gurwin

Peacock announced that starting tomorrow the streaming service will be available on Apple TV, Android TV, Chromecast, Xbox, VIZIO SmartCast TVs, LG Smart TVs, iOS, and Android. Starting the week of July 20th, it will become available on PS4. Noticeably missing however, are Amazon Fire TV and Roku, which make up 80 million active devices.

This is the second major streaming service to launch without the platforms, just as HBO Max did in May (who still without a deal). Similar to HBO Max, we’ve heard that Peacock has apps ready to go on Roku and Fire TV, when the sides reach the deal. Unless the sides make a last minute deal, similar to Comcast and AT&T for HBO Max, you won’t be able to stream on those devices when the service launches tomorrow.

Last week, Matt Strauss, Chairman of Peacock, said in an interview that “it’s not a sprint, it’s a marathon for us. Our launch date on July 15, is our launch date. We’re in discussions with everybody … we would like to have the app available on all platforms, but we’re committed to launching on the date that we set forth.”

On social media, the company have asked streamers, at least in the case of Roku, to help them get Peacock on their platform.

When the service launches tomorrow, it will have a slate of about 20,000 hours of original, classic and current on-demand programming. Among the releases at launch will be nine original titles – including content for adults, teens and kids – as well as library shows, including hits “30 Rock,” “Parks and Recreation” and the “Law & Order” franchise.

There is a free tier, with ~7,500 of content, and a Premium tier for $4.99 a month. Those with Xfinity or Cox, will receive a $5 discount on any monthly subscription they wish to acquire, meaning the ad-supported tier of Peacock Premium, which costs $5 a month, is free for those users. Peacock Premium without ads costs $10 a month.

How to Sign-Up for News & Updates on Other Streaming Devices

If you have other devices, you can learn how to sign-up on Apple TV, Chromecast, Android TV, Xbox, PS4, iPhone, iPad, Android, Samsung Smart TV, LG Smart TV, VIZIO Smart TV, Xfinity Flex, and Xfinity X1.