What are Apple TV+’s rules on password sharing?
What are Apple TV+’s rules on password sharing?
Does the streamer crack down hard on the sharing of accounts?
Does Apple TV+ build high walls to keep unauthorized viewers out of its high-tech halls? It would stand to reason if the streamer did so; Apple TV+ has a policy of only creating high-quality original shows and movies, and such quality usually comes at the cost of a high degree of exclusivity.
If you’re wondering how that applies to Apple TV+’s password-sharing policies, keep reading. We’ll tell you Apple’s official stance on the sharing of accounts, what kind of action you can expect the streamer to take if you do share a password, and more below.
Everything you need to know about sharing passwords on Apple TV+
What is the official Apple TV+ policy on password sharing?
Interestingly, Apple TV+ seems to have a bit of a mixed message on password sharing. The following message indicates that viewers are expressly responsible for keeping their login information confidential, which seems to allude to the fact that Apple doesn’t want customers sharing their accounts with non-subscribers.
Its service terms read:
You are entirely responsible for maintaining the confidentiality of the information you hold for your account, including your password, and for any and all activity that occurs under your account as a result of your failing to keep this information secure and confidential. You agree to notify Apple immediately of any unauthorized use of your account or password, or any other breach of security. You may be held liable for losses incurred by Apple or any other user of or visitor to the Site due to someone else using your Apple ID, password, or account as a result of your failing to keep your account information secure and confidential.
However, the next paragraph of the Apple TV+ terms of service leaves more room for interpretation, suggesting that perhaps those with the express permission of the Apple TV+ account owner may access it outside the main home on the account. That passage reads:
You may not use anyone else’s Apple ID, password, or account at any time without the express permission and consent of the holder of that Apple ID, password, or account.
Does Apple TV strictly enforce password sharing?
Ambiguity aside, Apple TV+ does not seem to be sending any prompts or warnings to customers who are sharing their accounts with viewers outside the home, or to those viewers who are logging into an account they don’t pay for. At the moment, cracking down on password sharing doesn’t seem to be the company’s main focus.
What is Apple’s Family Sharing?
If at least one person in your family has an Apple device, other family members can access their Apple services through Family Sharing, which can be used to create up to six individual Apple IDs. Customers don’t need an Apple device to use Apple TV+ with Family Sharing, and it’s another way to share accounts within the Apple rules. Customers will need Apple devices to use all the features embedded in Family Sharing.
Apple TV
Apple TV (formerly known as Apple TV+) is a subscription video streaming service for $14.99 per month, offering a growing slate of original series, films, documentaries, and specials. Unlike other platforms that combine licensed titles with originals, Apple TV is built entirely around exclusive programming, making it the home of critically acclaimed hits such as “Ted Lasso,” “Severance,” “The Morning Show,” and “Silo.” Its lineup continues to expand with award-winning dramas, comedies, family-friendly shows, and blockbuster original films like “CODA,” which won the Academy Award for Best Picture.
